The End Of An Almost Lover

ha ha what a fitting description. Not always the most promising of relationships but I’m sure just about everyone has had one of these frustratingly beautiful things.

Thought Catalog

Screen Shot 2014-05-12 at 2.17.16 PM

I was never his girlfriend. He already had one of those, I found out later. So we never kissed. We spent countless hours talking into the point where night turns into morning, but we never spent the night together. We discussed the possibility of us – and what our future together might hold – too many times to count.

But he was never mine.

When it ended – abruptly and on his terms, of course – I didn’t know why it hurt so much. He wasn’t really an ex; we’d never so much as held hands. He wasn’t just a friend.

He was an almost lover. And almost lovers can hurt more than real ones.

At least with previous boyfriends, I could point to the past. Flaws. Fights. Memories, both good and bad. I had something concrete to hold onto. I had photos, old DVDs they’d lent me, “I love…

View original post 106 more words

This entry was written by chicindie and published on May 13, 2014 at 11:02 am. It’s filed under General. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

